Book Twitter Vimeo You Tube Instagram

Home > Running Down a Dream - Part One

Running Down a Dream - Part One

Bob Carson takes new owners from sales ring to turnout

Click here to read Part Two

Chapter 1 – Introduction

'The Long and Winding Road'
By Lennon-McCartney, 1970
Chapter 2 - Early Considerations

'It Ain't the Gold'
By John Stewart, 1984
Chapter 3 - The Horses

'You Got Lucky, When I Found You'
By Tom Petty, 1985
Chapter 4 - Harnessing Up

'Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress'
By The Hollies, 1972
Chapter 5 - Horse Names

“What's Your Name?”
By Don & Juan 1962
Chapter 6 - Thoughts about ownership

“Can't Buy Me Love”
By The Beatles, 1964
Chapter 7 - Daily Routine

'The Letter'
By Wayne Carson Thompson - The Box Tops, #1 in 1975
Chapter 8 – What is Staking

'Money For Nothing'
By Dire Straits, 1985
Chapter 9 - Early Training

'Step by Step'
Johnny Maestro and the Crests, 1960
Chapter 10 - Qualifying the Fillies

'The Times They are a Changing'
By Bob Dylan, 1964
Chapter 11 - Heading Towards A Real Race

'Start Me Up'
By Rolling Stones, 1981
Chapter 12 - Early Troubles

'Trouble Waiting to Happen'
By Warren Zevon, 1986
Chapter 13 - Stakes Race Part II

'Running Down a Dream'
By Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, 1989
Chapter 14 - Winning a Race

'This Magic Moment'
By Pomus and Shulman, 1969, Sung by Jay and the Americans
Chapter 15 - Winning Issues

'I Hear You Knocking'
By Dave Edmunds, 1970
Chapter 16 - Busy Summer Days

'Time of Your Life'
Green Day, 1994, released 1997
Chapter 17 - The Standardbred

'Splish Splash'
By Murray (the K) Kaufman, 1958, Sung by Bobby Darin
Chapter 18 - A Disappointing Finish

'Don't Go Breaking My Heart'
By Elton John & Kiki Dee
Chapter 19 - A Nice Surprise

'Hold On, I'm Coming'
By Sam and Dave, 1966
Chapter 20 - Season Recap

'Man in the Mirror'
By Michael Jackson, 1988
Chapter 21 – Future Considerations

“Reconsider Me”
by Warren Zevon, 1987
Chapter 22 – The Dark Side

“The Dark Side”
by John Cafferty and the Beaver Brown Band, 1983
Chapter 23 – Where Do They Go?

“Go Your Own Way”
by Fleetwood Mac, 1979
Chapter 24 – Mary’s Thoughts

“Along Comes Mary”
by The Association, 1966
Chapter 25 – Postscript

Bob Carson
Hoof Beats Magazine About the Author
Bob Carson's award-winning freelance writing has appeared in more than two dozen national publications. He is a steady contributor to Trot Magazine, The United States Trotting Association and Timeline Magazine. After more than 200 magazine articles and stories, his first novel, The Voyage of Mess (humor) was released in 2009. In 2005 he produced the documentary film, Touching Home (Minor League Baseball). In 2006 he received the Hervey Award for Journalistic Excellence and Best of Ohio Fiction awards. He has published Minor Trips (Minor League Baseball) since 1991. Bob Carson has owned harness horses for more than a decade, including a stint as a weekend trainer. He lives in Strongsville, Ohio, with his wife, Sue, and daughter, Katie.
Subscribe to Hoof Beats Magazine

Share this on Facebook Share

Contact Us
Send an e-mail to T.J. Burkett